Monsters.

You probably don’t think I’ll remember when you said, “don’t worry, I’m here.” You probably won’t remember when you whispered it to me and pulled me near. 

Fast asleep yet you still protect me. You pull me close and the monsters retreat. Limbs intertwined like a tangle of trees. I heard you say it softly and it sparked something in me. 

Fast asleep and the monsters are too afraid to creep. You wrapped around me means they must stay in the shadowy deep. 

You keep composed when the daylight shows. Fast asleep you don’t think I’ll know. I know you are here and with you, darling, I know that monsters are not something I need to fear. 

One thought on “Monsters.

Leave a Reply

