Come back.

There must have been something with how the stars aligned that December night. There must be a snag in the cosmos making it just almost right…

There must have been some fracture in the plan. I keep getting left over and over again. I keep drowning on dry land. 

I give up my heart and present it for its homely worth. I try to entice you with my lack of jewels but lavish words. I push and I shove them into your hands…I don’t know how else to tell you that for you, I’d stay on the land.

There must be a glitch in the heavens at night. I’ve done something to spoil the Man in the Moon. I am trying with all of my might to get to you. 

I feel you fade into the night that I used to call home. The stars feel far away now, like you both want me gone. I feel like I’m fighting the riptide all alone.

There must have been a mishap in the stars that December night 28 years ago. I must have misread the signs and misinterpreted my home. 

I feel you pull away as the stars stopped coming over to play… I try to tell you that for you I’d leave the sea. I don’t know how to get you to come back to me. 

14 thoughts on “Come back.

Leave a Reply

