Fool Me Once.

I had forgotten how sweet your lips were. I had forgotten how softly and exactly they fit onto mine. 

I won’t be played for a fool this time.

I’d forgotten how your fingers fit so warmly intertwined with mine. I’d forgotten the constellations that dot your shoulders and your back.

I won’t be taken in just like that.

I’d forgotten that you look into my eyes and are never the first to look away. I’d forgotten that, with you, I never know what to say. I’d forgotten that you fit like a puzzle piece.

I won’t let you ruin my peace.

I’ve become hardened and war bound. I wear armor and don’t fall down. I don’t want to feel helpless ever again. I don’t want to give up on everything I’ve gained. 

But your pillow lips hug mine close and your broad shoulders promise to never let me go. 

I have no idea what I’m doing or what feelings to show. I’ve always wanted you and I think you’ve always known.

23 thoughts on “Fool Me Once.

      1. Thank you! And yes, it is hard. I hate moving! ugh logistical nightmare between countries. And the whole visa process to the US was awful. Not great to Australia either but not nearly as bad.
        But travel is amazing. And I have lovely parents who encouraged it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So have you travelled? I had an amazing time in 2003 visiting parts of eastern Germany with an elderly friend who first started going there under communism. I also had the chance to go to the UK and France with a cousin (my husband liked taking his vacation time back to the farm where he grew up, so I travelled without him πŸ™‚ )

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Jealous!! I’ve travelled wothin the country quite a bit; Furthest I’ve been was Hawaii, but I’ve never been out of the US. I’m trying to get a flight attendant job to change that. Travelling alone is the best!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ugh, I would love to go to Hawaii! I’m hoping we can have a family Christmas there one year…it’s nice to have dreams πŸ™‚
        Are you seriously going for the flight attendant job? That would be awesome. Good luck!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’ve applied for a few but so far no luck yet! I would loooove to go to Australia. Although I’ve seen pics of some of the insects native there and think I’d die haha

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I hear that a lot from people…someone must be flooding social media with horror stories of our scary animals…although, having said that…um, there are a few, but it depends where you are πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

