You don’t know.

You say you don’t know. You think you were clear. You say you don’t know and it’s a lie that you’ve told yourself for years.

You say you don’t know. As if you’ve forgotten the phone call in the rain. How sorry you were. Yet you did the exact same thing the very next day. 

You say you don’t know. Like you didn’t know that your words and actions need to match. Like you didn’t know you ignored me after saying you wanted me back.

You say you don’t know. And, darling, if that’s true, then I probably dodged a bullet with you. 

If you don’t know that you can’t come and go in someone’s life whenever you please, you are either lying or you are too consumed by your own selfish needs.

You don’t know that consistency is key? That doing what you say matters more than the ‘sorrys’ you’ve laid? 

You say you don’t know and I’m sorry you don’t. I suppose there are women out there who will let you do the things I won’t.

I guess I don’t know.   

Leave a Reply

