Check.

White goes first. That’s always me. I move, you move, repeat. 

I’ve gotten quite good at this game. My queen protects my king and she long reigns. I’ve always known the moves to make and I adore the game, the losses, the wins, and stalemates. 

The world is a chess board and I see the moves ahead. I know where to move and castle, where to sacrifice, when to hesitate instead. 

The board between us is heaven and it is good. But queens grow weary of pawns and the checkers on the board. 

I don’t intend to play for long. Summer is almost here. Winter is almost gone. 

Checkmate. 

One thought on “Check.

Leave a Reply

