My dear heart.

I’ve been writing with venom that is oozing from my skin. With every bit of vehemence I could turn to toxin.

It’s raining tonight and smearing all the lines. Reminding me that I am a woman who is supposed to be kind. A tender heart with a calloused layer will still beat the same with or without him there. But the soul she bandaged in the softest moon will knit together the most ravaged wound. 

The rain and the crickets tell me to be calm and to let it loose. To let go of the hatred and loosen my noose. Listen to the rain falling and dancing and knowing why I am awake. Listen to the sound of straw spun to gold. Listen to the rain remind me to hold my dear heart close.

One thought on “My dear heart.

Leave a Reply

