Enlightened.

Rip off giant chunks of sky, stuff them unceremoniously in my mouth. 

Bit by bit I take claim on the stars, I make the tip-top of the mountains mine. I’m making this earth my house.

Don’t forget about me in your vastness, don’t leave me behind. Don’t forget to remember I’m partnered by your side. 

The earth and the moon, the seas and the wind, all these heavenly bodies around me, and you.

Thread the needle and sew it into my skin, the moss and the leaves, the rain and the dirt. Every bit of it, even the hurt. Thread it through my skin and let nothing but good fortune in.

Peel back layers of the clouds and stuff them in my mouth, greedy for the freedom they have up there. Clawing my way into their atmosphere. 

2 thoughts on “Enlightened.

Leave a Reply

