Violin. The reprise.

I wrote something similar a while back. About how I felt like someone’s instrument…their own personal violin. Well I loved the haunting idea so much I rewrote it into a song. Loving a sociopath made for, what I think, is a great metaphor 👍

Slide your bow across my neck. Slowly drag with every breath. ‘Cause I know that you want to hear me sing–
‘Cause I’m your violin, baby.

Press your fingers on my strings. Slowly pull the notes from me. ‘Cause we know that you own every note I sing-
‘Cause I’m your violin, baby.

Cradle me close. Bend my will with your bow. And from my throat you’ll pull the notes. Take my voice and make it your own.

You and I will harmonize as if we practiced line by line. But I know without me you couldn’t sing–
‘Cause I’m your violin, baby.

Keep me closed up I’m your case. Don’t pull me out unless you feel it’s safe. ‘Cause velvet lining hides your treasured thing–
‘Cause I’m your violin, baby

Cradle me close. Bend my will with your bow. And from my throat you’ll pull the notes. Take my voice and make it your own.

Yet I know without you this ain’t the song I’d sing…but I’m still your violin, baby. I’m your violin, baby.

6 thoughts on “Violin. The reprise.

  1. Find someone to put music to your stuff…excellent! I have dabbled once or twice and have had music added, it is trilling. Thank you for the ‘like’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

