Hurricane.

The hurricane is gone. The water is calm. I can smell the salt. I don’t even remember who was at fault.
The tumultuous winds have turned into a gentle breeze– leave me here to gather up what pieces are left of me.
The seagulls don’t take note or care.
They are used to hurricane weather.
They are not ruined by rough winds in their feathers.
I have never been through a hurricane. I’ve never had to survive a threat to my life like you.
I’ve never had to hold on and just wait for blue.
The water is calm and the waves lap on. They have forgotten they were deadly– they only remember calm.
I wish I were the waves
I wish I only remembered today.

Leave a Reply

