Lie.

New worlds in new places, unknown skies and lonely beds
He’s a liar, a cheater, undeserved of all the poems she’s said
Leave the words to melt in the sun
Grind into the ground
Murky murmurs he can’t articulate on a cheaters tongue.
Lonely heart and tattered trust
Line the sheets begging for a stranger’s lust.
Turn the knife that crippled my spine
Call the girl to come take what was mine.
Leave the lies on unpaved roads, give the rodents a path to follow.
You are everything I wish I never knew, a book I’d sell my soul to have never read.
Words on a tongue I want to tear out and shred.
Lie less loudly, lies sound better cushioned in truths.
Lie less soundly and I wouldn’t hate everything that is you.

Leave a Reply

