That one JFK quote I drool over.

There are tons of good quotes I love. Ones that resonate in my soul. That I memorize and repeat them to myself when the moment is right. JFK had plenty of good ones, duh. But this one, this one quote is one I keep coming back to and rereading and rewriting on everything I can. I thought I’d share with you the simplistic and moving nature of it: 

“I really don’t know why it is that all of us are so committed to the sea, except I think it’s because in addition to the fact that the sea changes, and the light changes, and ships change, it’s because we all came from the sea. And it is an interesting biological fact that all of us have in our veins the exact same percentage of salt in our blood that exists in the ocean, and, therefore, we have salt in our blood, in our sweat, in our tears. We are tied to the ocean. And when we go back to the sea – whether it is to sail or to watch it – we are going back from whence we came.”

[Remarks at the Dinner for the America’s Cup Crews, September 14 1962]

You in love yet? Did you fall hopelessly in love with this even if you don’t have a desire to live on or at the ocean? You should have. There is something so powerful in the sea and I love how he explained the pull of it. Like we are also tides that are pulled by the moon to meet the shore. Even if it’s not regularly.

I hope this inspires a little burst of hope and connection to others like it does for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

