Orange notebook.

I write down all the moments I can remember in an orange notebook.
Only the moments I need to remember. If I forget, it won’t have been real.
They slip away and turn to the dust you see floating in shards of sunlight.
How do some moments stick and others dont?
How can you make them last longer than the faded lined paper in a notebook?
It is a cheap way to save those moments.
It is an impossibly hard way to relive them. Parts of them still fade.
But I write them into rhymes and rythms to feel more like they belong. I write them the way I felt them at that time. These notebooks hold tangible parts of my soul.
When I write in them, the memories become like home.

Leave a Reply

