Summer skin.

At some point we are taught to shed our Summer skin
Leave the light and let the Winter in.

Trade fireflies for spitting fires. Leafless mountains and edgy air.
Forget the green and accept the bare.

I never learned to lose my Summer layer. Hug it close makes Winter easier to bear.

Summer feels hot and sticky on my naked shoulders here. Eats me up and swills the dregs. Cleans out the bits of sadness Winter left.

I am from a bright December moon, Jupiter snowing luck on my Winter skin. Letting me love another season, forgives my sin.

At some point we are taught to shed our summer skin.
My mother said to put on layers to keep the Summer in.

Leave a Reply

