Harry Potter

I often get made fun of for my Harry Potter obsession. It’s big. It’s real. I’ve read the books a sickening amount of times and detest the movies. So don’t talk about them when I mention Harry Potter to you.

I recently read an article where research was conducted (University of Modena) on children who have and haven’t read them. The kids who have read them were more sympathetic, more tolerant, kinder, more open-minded, humans. Seriously.

So all the constant mockery and banning of these books in certain schools and the bullshit that comes with a “fantasy” label is utterly closed-minded and enrages me.

Beyond the magic and fantastical animals and characters, this series teaches us (adults included) about bigotry, friendship, bravery, kindness, and problem solving. Themes that most sane parents want their children to learn and execute with a kind heart. We learn through reading. Readers have lived a thousand more lives than non readers. By following a character’s life through a book, you learn how someone else thinks, how they handle situations, how they die or live. You unintentionally learn how to be more empathetic because you can put yourself into so many different shoes.

Hell, we expect our kids to read The Diary of Anne Frank to learn about bravery and how horrible prejudice can be so they can be more well rounded people. Why then can’t an entire series do that just because it is not real? If it affects your mind and your heart and how you feel, then isn’t it real?

Regardless, there are so many lessons to be had from this “children’s book” that I needed to clear that up. I am a 26 year old woman who will read this book to my kids, and my grand kids, and hopefully they will read it to me when I’m too old to hold the book. It has shaped who I am. And I’m a pretty amazing woman.

“Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times. If one only remembers to turn on the light.” –Dumbledore 🙂

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter

  1. Hey Natalie,

    Ever heard Mark Twain’s quote, “There are three kinds of lies. Lies, damned lies, and statistics”? It’s the first thing that popped into my head when I read “research was conducted…sympathetic…kinder.” I wonder if the research would show that kids who had read anything were better people. What do you think?

    I’m going to email you something, btw. Thanks for the book review and for reading the book.

    Pete

    Like

    1. To clarify the data. When reading the books, they read specific passages on bigotry and how the characters handled it. Other children just read no opinionated sections (like the kids going to dinner or what the learned in a class). There was a difference in how both groups felt on racism and bigotry. However, I’m sure reading anything, would makes kids more knowledgeable and then be able to choose to be kinder or not!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

