Dear Dad,

Sunrise, sunlight, I can see it in your eyes when you sing me lullabies.

You give me direction when I feel lost.

You helped me find the music in me by singing me “Muskrat Love” every night–Just so I’d dream sweet.

You let me listen in every time you play love songs for Mom.

Dad, I want you to know this chord right here, D major 7th, I believe, makes me think of you.

Dad, I want you to know your good deeds don’t go unnoticed by me.

Dad, you make this air so much easier to breath.

You give me courage when it is waning. You add feathers to my wings.

You’ve been my coach for longer than the 8 years we were on the same team. Teaching me life and strategy, you’re the only soccer star I’ll ever need.

So I thought today you ought to know, you’ve done a whole lot more than this song can show.

Dad, I want you to know this chord right here, D major 7th, I believe, makes me think of you.

Dad, I want you to know your good heart doesn’t go unnoticed by me.

Dad, you make this air so much easier to breath.

Leave a Reply

